WHEN EMPIRES CLASH! is now on sale via Lulu and Amazon.

Support independent publishing: Buy this book on Lulu.

9 Comments on “Publications”

  1. Hi Bob,

    Everything on this site is a gold mine of greatness. I am just wondering though. If I go to Lulu and buy any version of the Portable Wargame will they include the errata? Are the versions for sale online all updated?

    Cheers and thanks!

  2. Kristopher Harbury,

    Thanks for your kind comment.

    The versions of my books that are on sale via Lulu are right up-to-date regarding any changes in the text and should – therefore – contain none of the errors that were in the earlier versions.

    All the best,


  3. Marfac70 says:

    Hi Bob i recently bought all three books. I was searching for a way to play wargames in the little free time available after family and job etc. I found them great! Are you planning New titles? Should i have some questions is there a dedicated forum or could i post here? Thanks in advance.ciao Marco

  4. Macfac70 (Marco),

    It is immensely satisfying to get such messages as yours! I am so pleased that you have enjoyed my books … and I hope that you will enjoy the books that I plan to write as follow-ups. At present I have a fact book about the Spanish Civil War to finish, after which I hope to write THE PORTABLE NAPOLEONIC WARGAME and THE PORTABLE NAVAL WARGAME … and possible a book of scenarios as well.

    All the best,


  5. Marfac70 says:

    Hi Bob
    Hope this is the right place to put some questions regarding Developing portable wargame book
    1) do friendly or enemy units block lines of sight?
    2) could units pass through hex already occupied by friendly units without stopping there?
    3) what about a variant that allows two units in same hex under the condition the 2nd is a support one (hmg mortar or atgun) They could add+1 to close combat or they could fire though first Line units. Arty could have a +1 to hit if targeting such “crowded hexes”.
    4) what a about a rule variant that allows a +1 to to hit die roll if units open fire at half or less than their range !
    Thanks in advance

  6. Macfac70 (Marco),

    In answer to your questions:

    1. Unless the terrain would allow units to see over the top of other units (e.g. one is on a hill and the other is not), friendly and enemy units can block lines-of-sight.

    2. Units can pass through friendly units as long as:
    a. They do not end the movement in the same grid area as another unit.
    b. The moving unit is NOT RETREATING due to combat.
    c. The moving unit is NOT ELEPHANTS.

    3. I've used something like this in some of my other rules, and it would work. If you want to try it in your own battles, the rules are flexible enough for such and idea to be incorporated.

    4. I think that this rule might make battles even shorter and more bloody. Give it a go and see how well it works, and if you like it, incorporate it into your 'house' rules.

    All the best,


  7. Marfac70 says:

    Thanks Bob per the kind answers. I'll try these variants and keep you posted about the outcomes.
    Ciao from Italy!!

  8. Marfac70,

    It was my pleasure. I look forward to reading how they work out.

    All the best,


  9. Marfac70 says:

    Hi Bob finally able to play a.litle bit…played a fast encounter clash btw two armored units both trying to reach a village..3 questions of possibile.
    1 Tank tried to outflank the enemy passing though a Wood square..i moved 1 square each move to simulate difficult going..but after the battle asked to myself..could Tank units move through wood if no road is available?
    2) when you state that a unit pinned succefully attacked cannot retreat giù mean both a fire or close combat attack? I played that both kind of attack is I correct?
    3) should an at Gun or a arty unit surfer a result of retreat. Are they allow to retreat? I ask cause rules state that gun can only move with a trasport but in the statistics gun can move 1 square.
    4) close combat:all units(attacker and defender) involved roll a die. Am I correct? so the attacker could hit but be hit in the same turn.correct? Could Tank units assault Tank units?
    Thanks for your attention and patience