Comparing hexagons with squares: The end result of my deliberations

As a result of my recent deliberations – and the numerous helpful comments that I have received – I have decided to stick very firmly with my use of Hexon II hexed terrain … and to even buy some more!

Yesterday I sent Kallistra an order for six sets of pre-flocked single-hex terrain tiles. I probably use my existing collection of single-hex tiles more than I use my collection of standard six-hex tiles (they work particularly well with my mini-campaign board), and as I expect to use this board even more frequently in the future, it seemed to make sense to ensure that I had more than enough single hexes to meet any foreseeable needs.

6 Comments on “Comparing hexagons with squares: The end result of my deliberations”

  1. Norm says:

    Having gone around the same block as your good self (more than once), I always seem to end up back at the Hexon position.

    I will be asking them for some half hexes (flocked) plus another pack of singles as max out my table size in depth terms, I can get two extra rows of singles on the table, but can't get the 3 rows that are formed by the larger (standard) 6 hexed tile. So my table can be 11 hexes deep (not 12).

    Also, I hope at some point to get a box of blue hexes and push out into some naval wargaming.

    The half hexes will be for my 8 x 6 grid that sits on the pinboard.

  2. Trebian says:

    Each to their own Bob. I'm a squares person, myself, if I need a grid. I can't get my head round thinking that they look any anyway natural whereas I can convince myself I'm looking at a map if I use squares.

    Of course there are people who hate my white dots, so what do I know?

    Trebian

  3. Norm,

    I am still thinking about ordering some half hexes, but I will probably buy some eventually just to tidy up my mini-campaign board.

    Like you, I can just about fit enough hexes onto my 4' x 3' wargames table to set up C&C/Memoir '44 battles, and have found the single-hex tiles make this possible.

    The blue hexes have all sorts of uses, and I prefer to use them rather than the large river sections provided by Hexon when I want to depict a wide river or large body of water.

    All the best,

    Bob

  4. Trebian,

    I know just what you mean about looking at a squared grid and thinking of it as being a 3D map … and I suspect that I will still drift back to using a squared grid from time to time.

    Vive la difference!

    All the best,

    Bob

  5. Chris says:

    I'm normally a square-grid fan, but at the last convention I attended, someone left 50+ GHQ terrain hex-tiles for whomever wanted them. Inasmuch as they are all painted, with flocking, trees, roads, and rivers, and the price was right (i.e. free), I took them home. My wife was not overjoyed to see a big box of stuff coming in the front door, but even she had to admit it was irresistible!

    So I guess I'm ready to take a crack at the Winter War scenarios you described. Whoops, not quite ready–I need to get some early-war armor!

    Best regards,

    Chris

  6. Chris,

    Welcome to the dark side!

    I must admit that FREE is an exceedingly attractive price for any terrain … and no doubt you might be able to acquire additional hexes via the wargaming network if the need arises.

    I hope that you enjoy trying out my scenarios.

    All the best,

    Bob


Leave a Reply

