Souvenirs of our recent cruise

Both Sue and I seemed to buy more stuff during this cruise than we have done on many of our other recent cruises. My personal tally included:

  • A large piece of 2m x 2m green polyester felt
  • A large piece of 2m x 2m tan polyester felt

(Both of these were bought in a haberdashery shop in Madeira and were being sold at about half the price of similar felt in the UK. These will eventually become terrain cloths … I hope!)

  • Two new flags to add to my collection.

The flag of the Canary Islands (Spain)

The flag of Gran Canaria (Spain)

  • A number of metal and plastic die-cast models

A 1:1200th-scale model of a fast battleship/battle cruiser of the Kongo-class

A pair of 1:100th-scale models of Il-2 Sturmoviks

A 1:100th-scale model of a Yak-3 fighter

Not a bad haul, even though I say it myself!

8 Comments on “Souvenirs of our recent cruise”

  1. David Crook says:

    Hi Bob,

    You cannot go wrong with a Kongo class battle cruiser – seeing that brings back some Fletcher Pratt memories for sure! The aircraft are a very good find as well – just the thing for your Great Patriotic War! Besides, you can never have too many Sturmoviks in my opinion….;-)

    All the best,

    DC

  2. David Crook,

    The shop actually had over 30 different Japanese warship models on sale for 6 Euros each, and if I had had the money and the luggage space I might have bought one of each … and it was a real strain NOT to buy the Fuso!

    The aircraft cost 2 Euros each, and will hopefully be appearing in a wargame very soon.

    All the best,

    Bob

  3. A good haul Sir.
    May your loft eventually be as full as my own!

  4. Nigel Drury says:

    Will you be cutting the Kongo down to a waterline model?

  5. Generalwhiskers,

    I could have bought even more stuff, had I had the money and space in my luggage!

    As to my loft … well I seem to be filling it as fast as I can get rid of stuff!

    All the best,

    Bob

  6. Nigel Drury,

    Not at the moment … but possibly at some time in the future.

    All the best,

    Bob

  7. Conrad Kinch says:

    An excellent haul indeed.

  8. Conrad Kinch,

    A much better one than I had expected when I left to go on the cruise. I left expecting to find nothing … and came back very happy indeed!

    All the best,

    Bob


Leave a Reply

