Going Loco: Part 13: Painted wagons

I have now finished painting my three high-sided wagons …

… and five flat-bed wagons.

They were painted with Humbrol matt enamel paints (Desert Yellow No.93 and Black No.33).

4 Comments on “Going Loco: Part 13: Painted wagons”

  1. Ken H says:

    Hi Bob
    very nice wagons! I'm a MR / LMS man myself!
    I hijacked Tim Gow''s blog the other night and – I hope you don't mind – but I wanted to ask a question of you also. I've recently bought Neil Thomas's “One Hour Wargames” book – designed for six units a slide, on a 3' X 3' table, and the book offers multi scenarios ( many based on the old C. Grant book of that ilk) – my question: have you come acrosss the book?. If so, what do you make of it. The games are apparently designed to be played in an hour!. I've just painted up a 3 x 3 MDF board and so I shall have a bash – I feel the same thrill as I felt when my dad bought me Donald Featherstones Advanced Wargames for my 14th birthday ( I think it was) – my first ever wargames book. Just hope I shan't be disappointed. Good uck with your loco – motivation! Best regards Ken

  2. Ken H,

    I was brought up in the LNER area (I used to travel to school on part of the old LT&SR) and live in the old SR region now. I have always loved steam railways and I am always looking for opportunities to use them on the tabletop.

    I own a copy of the book, and although the rules are not quite my 'style', they work and the scenarios are more that a little useful. In fact, I hope to use some of them in the near future.

    Good luck with your forthcoming battles. I am sure that you will get lots of enjoyment from them.

    All the best,

    Bob

  3. Jim Duncan says:

    Ken

    As Bob says the scenarios in the OHW book look very useful.

    I'll be giving them a go later this year.

    Jim

  4. Ken H,

    Well that's two votes in favour of the scenarios!

    All the best,

    Bob


Leave a Reply

