Britannia’s Wolf: The Dawlish Chronicles: September 1877 – February 1878

One of my areas of interest are the wars of the latter half of the nineteenth century, and whenever I find a novel set during that era, I will usually buy it. BRITANNIA’S WOLF: THE DAWLISH CHRONICLES: SEPTEMBER 1877 – FEBRUARY 1878 (written and published by Antoine Vanner [ISBN 978 1 4802 7527 0]) is one such book … and I have just finished reading it on my Kindle.

The book is the first of what is – so far – a trilogy about the adventures of Nicholas Dawlish, and this story is set during the Russo-Turkish War of 1877 – 1878. Dawlish is a Commander in the Royal Navy who has ‘resigned’ so that he can serve Britain’s interests as an officer in the Ottoman Navy.

The book is well researched, and certainly has a ‘feel’ for the naval warfare of the period. It is also an interesting source of potential scenarios for naval wargamers, particularly those who want to organise a small-scale campaign that features ironclads, gunboats, and torpedo boats.

The other books in the trilogy are:

  • BRITANNIA’S REACH: THE DAWLISH CHRONICLES: NOVEMBER 1879 – APRIL 1880
  • BRITANNIA’S SHARK: THE DAWLISH CHRONICLES: APRIL 1881 – SEPTEMBER 1881

I have already bought these books for my Kindle and I am looking forward to reading them over Christmas.

6 Comments on “Britannia’s Wolf: The Dawlish Chronicles: September 1877 – February 1878”

  1. Edwin King says:

    Antoine has a great blog covering the period and stuff of interest over at http://dawlishchronicles.blogspot.co.uk/

  2. I really like these books. I just finished reading the newest one, Britannia's Shark.

  3. Edwin King,

    I have already paid Antoine's blog a visit, and as you write, it covers a lot of interesting topics.

    All the best,

    Bob

  4. William McHarg,

    I have certainly enjoyed everything that I have read so far, and I am looking forward to reading the next two books in the series … and to the ones that the Antoine Vanner has begun writing or is planning to write.

    All the best,

    Bob

  5. Tim Gow says:

    Looks interesting – I may well order the Kindle version.

  6. Tim Gow,

    I would certainly give the first book a go to see if you enjoy it.

    All the best,

    Bob


Leave a Reply

