Magazine article in praise of imagi-nations

Over the weekend I bought a copy of WARGAMES, SOLDIERS & STRATEGY at the Bluewater branch of WHSmith. Unlike MINIATURE WARGAMES WITH BATTLEGAMES, which I get every month, I only buy WARGAMES, SOLDIERS & STRATEGY when it has a theme that interests me. This particular issue’s theme was Operation Market Garden … and as my father was a member of an airborne unit (but not one that took part in this particular military operations) I decided to buy it.

One article that was not related to this issue’s theme but which I really enjoyed reading was Otto Schmidt’s TO FOURDOOR WHERE THE SUNNY DAYS LAY. This is written in Otto’s familiar style, and extolled the virtues of fun wargaming using imagi-nations … something that I wholeheartedly agree with.


One thing that I particularly liked about this article was the photograph that accompanied it. The Freedonian tank is the sort of design that I would have come up with, combining as it does the hull of a Russian T-26 tank with the running gear of a German Pzkpfw III, topped off with a large cylindrical turret of unknown origin.

Simply marvellous!

4 Comments on “Magazine article in praise of imagi-nations”

  1. Arquinsiel says:

    I may have to pick this one up. I grabbed a random issue of the magazine at some stage and wasn't all that impressed with it compared to what else is on offer.

  2. Arquinsiel,

    I think that this issue would certainly merit a quick look through it before you decide whether or not to buy a copy.

    All the best,

    Bob

  3. Arquinsiel says:

    As it turns out, it's not on the shelves of any of the local book merchants. Ah well.

  4. Arquinsiel,

    That is surprising news. My local news agent had a whole stack of them.

    All the best,

    Bob


Leave a Reply

